Porter Prize

2024 Porter Prize will be honored in September. 

Stay tuned for more information.


Previous Porter Prize Honorees

  • 2022 Victor Dzau, president, National Academy of Medicine 
  • 2019 Donald S. Burke, physician, virologist, and researcher
  • 2016 Paul A. Offit, physician, educator, virologist and author
  • 2014 Michael Moss, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and author of Salt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us
  • 2011 Françoise Barré-Sinoussi, director of the Regulation of Retroviral Infections Unit, Institut Pasteur, Paris; 2008 Nobel Prize for Medicine recipient for the discovery of the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
  • 2009 Nancy G. Brinker, founder of Susan G. Komen for the Cure
  • 2004 Louis W. Sullivan, former secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and founder of the Morehouse School of Medicine
  • 2003 William Novelli, AARP
  • 2002 Gordon DeFriese, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • 2001 Steven A. Schroeder, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • 1998 Lester Breslow, University of California at Los Angeles
  • 1996 C. Everett Koop, former U.S. surgeon general
  • 1995 “It Takes a Whole Community to Raise a Child
  • 1994 Jonathan Fielding, University of California at Los Angeles
  • 1993 Lisbeth B. Schorr, social worker and author
  • 1992 Wilford A. Payne, Primary Care Health Services
  • 1991 Senator John Heinz III
  • 1989 J. Michael McGinnis, assistant surgeon general; deputy assistant secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services; and senior vice president and founding director of the Health Group, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
  • 1987 Robert D. Sparks, W. K. Kellogg Foundation 1988 Rev. Fred M. Rogers, Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood
  • 1985 Anne Somers, health economist and author 1986 Clarence Pearson, Peter Drucker Institute