Craig Education Award

James L. Craig Excellence in Education Award

A good education begins with a thoughtful, well-prepared, and eager student, and a committed faculty member for whom teaching is critically important. Think about those faculty whose teaching—in a classroom, in a lab, or one-on-one—has made a difference in your life and nominate them for the Craig Award.

Established by University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health alumnus James L. Craig, MD, (EOH ’63), this award recognizes faculty who have excelled in the teaching and mentoring of students. Craig awardees are nominated annually by Pitt Public Health students and selected by a committee of Pitt Public Health students and past Craig awardees.

Past Craig Award Honorees

  • 2021: Ying Ding
  • 2020: Dr. John Shaffer
  • 2019: Beth Roman
  • 2018: Aaron Barchowsky
  • 2017: Wesley Rohrer
  • 2016: Mary Hawk
  • 2015: Robin Grubs
  • 2014: Julie Donohue